New president of EuPC

New president of EuPC
On 6th June 2014 EuPC elected Michael Kundel, CEO at Renolit in Germany, as its new President. Michael Kundel is succeeding Bernhard Borgardt who chaired EuPC for the last 6 years.

In his opening statement Michael Kundel reconfirmed the need to defend the interest of plastics converters in Europe in a global trading environment affecting more and more smaller businesses often family owned.

These businesses are the engine of the EU economy and their competitiveness is also an issue for EU politicians said Kundel. Priorities for EuPC’s work must
concentrate around these issues if we want to serve the 50.000 companies we represent.

EuPC will therefore focus its future work on labor costs, energy costs and supply of raw material to plastics converters in Europe in the next few years.

At the same time Frédéric Midy from Aliaxis was elected as EuPC treasurer for 2 years. Frédéric Midy is also heading the Building & Construction Division of EuPC.
Björn Hoem was reconfirmed as chairman of the packaging Division and Philip Law joined the EuPC steering Committee replacing Peter Davis.

During the EuPC GA the announcement of the retirement of several MDs from National associations was celebrated. EuPC handed out personal awards to 6 MD that all together had served the plastics converting industry for close to hundred years.

The following persons received the EuPC award: Peter Davis (BPF), Geert Scheys (Federplast-Essencia), Gustaaf Bos (Federplast-Agoria), Enrique Gallegoi (ANAIP), Peter Skov (DPF) and Ernesto Engel (Swiss Plastics).

A new generation of people will be taken over important positions at these national associations within the EuPC network in order to continue to serve at best a sector employing 1,7 million people in Europe.